World Soundtrack Awards in Tune with Emmys

four composers

Clockwise from top left: Mac Quayle, Mica Levy, Jóhann Jóhannsson and Ramin Djawadi.

The first first wave of the 2017 World Soundtrack Award Nominees includes four of this year’s Emmy nominated composers in the Best TV Composer of the Year category. Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein of Stranger Things, Westworld’s Ramin Djawadi, The Crown’s Rupert Gregson-Williams and Feud’s Mac Quayle made the list. Better Call Saul’s Dave Porter also received a nomination, whereas Emmy recognized the show for music supervision this year, not composing.

In the film category, 2017 Academy Award-winner Justin Hurwitz and Oscar nominees Mica LeviNicholas BritellDustin O’Halloran and Jóhann Jóhannsson were singled out for exceptional work. 

“This year’s nominations reflect the incredible wide range of style and talent in contemporary scoring for film and television, with a great line-up of new and established composers to celebrate the art and craft of film and television music,” Film Fest Gent’s artistic director Patrick Duynslaegher said about the selections.

As previously announced, The Lifetime Achievement Award will be presented to David Shire (The Conversation, All the President’s Men) as part of the #WSAwards celebration of jazz this year. Following the award ceremony, a selection of Terence Blanchard’s work (Mo’ Better Blues, Malcolm X, 25th Hour) will be performed by Brussels Philharmonic and additional jazz soloists, conducted by Film Fest Gent’s music director Dirk Brossé. Film Fest Gent will release an exclusive album with Blanchard’s work the same week. Discovery of 2016 Joe Kraemer (The Way of the Gun, Jack Reacher, Mission: Impossible- Rogue Nation) will also be performing that evening.

The World Soundtrack Awards are part of Film Fest Ghent, Oct. 10-20 in Belgium.


Best Film Composer of the Year
Nicholas Britell: Moonlight
Justin Hurwitz: La La Land
Jóhann Jóhannsson: Arrival
Mica Levi: Jackie, Marjorie Prime
Dustin O’Halloran: Lion (co-composed by Hauschka), In the Shadow of Iris (co-composed by Adam Wiltzie)

Best TV Composer of the Year
Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein: Stranger Things
Ramin Djawadi: Westworld, Prison Break: Resurrection, The Strain
Rupert Gregson-Williams: The Crown
Dave Porter: Better Call Saul, The Blacklist, The Blacklist: Redemption, Preacher
Mac Quayle: Feud: Bette & Joan, Mr. Robot, Scream Queens

Best Original Song written directly for a Film
“Can’t Stop the Feeling” (Trolls, music & Llyrics by Justin Timberlake, Max Martin and Shellback performers include o.a. Justin Timberlake, Anna Kendrick, Gwen Stefani, James Corden and Zooey Deschanel)

“City of Stars” (La La Land, music by Justin Hurwitz, lyrics by Benj Pasek and Justin Paul, performed by Ryan Gosling and Emma Stone)

“How Far I’ll Go” (Moana, music & lyrics by Lin-Manuel Miranda, performed by Auli’i Cravalho)

“Never Give Up” (Lion, music & lyrics by Sia Furler and Greg Kurstin, performed by Sia)

“Runnin’” (Hidden Figures,  music & lyrics by Pharrell Williams, performed by Pharrell Williams)

The World Soundtrack Academy aims at supporting film and television music, sound design, composers and its worldwide promotion. In 17 year’s time, the membership of the WSAcademy has grown into a group of 370 international film music professionals deciding on the nominees through several rounds of voting. The Academy will announce the nominees for Discovery of the Year, Best Original Score for a Belgian Production and the Sabam Award for Best Young International Composer mid-September. The audience can also nominate their favorite score by voting for the Public Choice Award on the WSAwards website until September 9th 2017.

17th World Soundtrack Awards 
18 October 2017 – WSAwards Gala & Concert: Tickets
19 October 2017 – Symphonic Jazz Concert: Tickets

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.