ASCAP Taps Next Gen Composers

Natural wood and luminous white hanging lights are decorative hallmarks of the Newman stage at Fox.

The Newman Scoring Stage at Fox is named after composer Alfred Newman, who spent 20 years at the studio and authored its famous fanfare.

The Newman Scoring Stage at Fox has seen plenty of history in the making, and on July 31 it will see the future in the making as 12 young composers participating in the ASCAP Film Scoring Workshop have the chance to record their original score to picture with a 64-piece orchestra. Now in  its 29th year, the comprehensive 4-week program is led by Emmy Award-winning composer Richard Bellis.

The Workshop, supported by The ASCAP Foundation, is known in Hollywood circles for grooming some of the world’s top composers, connecting them with agents, music supervisors, attorneys and A-list Hollywood studio executives. Among the program’s alumni since its 1988 launch are Jim Dooley (TNT’s Last Ship, Emmy winner for ABC’s Pushing Daisies,); Rob Duncan (NBC’s Timeless; multi-Emmy nominee for the ABC hit Castle, and Starz’s Missing); Matthew Margeson (2017 film Rings, 2016 films Eddie the Eagle and Miss Peregrine’s Home for Peculiar Children, International Film Music Critics Award winner for 2015 hit The Kingsmen: Secret Service); Mateo Messina (Oscar-winning 2007 film Juno, NBC’s Superstore and Hulu’s Casual); Layla Minoui (Bravo’s Girlfriend’s Guide to Divorce), Julia Newmann (additional music for hit FOX TV series Bones); and Joe Trapanese (ABC’s Quantico; 2016 film Allegiant, 2015 hit film Straight Outta Compton).

“I’m so proud of the ASCAP Film Scoring Workshop and the opportunity we have been able to offer these young composers who have worked so hard to earn their place in this exclusive group,” ASCAP senior vice president of membership Shawn LeMone said. “ASCAP supports its members in all stages of their careers and it is gratifying to get see them go on to make their marks in the film and television industry.”

The Workshop is produced by ASCAP Film and TV membership executives Michael Todd and Jennifer Harmon. Participants are chosen from more than 300 applicants by a team of 20 professional composers. This year’s participants are:

  •  Bronson Buskett (Los Angeles, CA)
  •  Tyler Durham (Nixa, MO)
  •  Bernhard Eder (Vienna, Austria)
  •  Riley Hughes (Los Angeles, CA)
  •  Ana Kasrashvili (Rustavi, Georgia)
  •  Jonathan Keith (Los Angeles, CA)
  •  Levente Kovacs (Vienna, Austria)
  •  Alexander Lecluyse (Paris, France)
  •  Antoni Mairata March (Madrid, Spain)
  •  Nolan Markey (Los Angeles, CA)
  •  Drew Mikuska (Los Angeles, CA)
  •  Megumi Sasano (Los Angeles/Japan)

The Newman Stage is named for composer Alfred Newman, who conducted music at Fox from 1940-1960, composing more than 200 scores, earning nine Academy Awards. He wrote the Fox fanfare that plays with the logo that opens Fox films.

Among the scoring legends and top-tier composers that have lectured at the Workshop are: Henry Mancini, Elmer Bernstein, Randy Newman, Hans Zimmer, James Newton Howard, John Powell, Geoff Zanelli, Garry Schyman, Michael Levine, David Vanacore, Ron Jones, Jeff Cardoni, Michael Giacchino, Marco Beltrami, Buck Sanders, Walter Murphy, Mark Isham, Alf Clausen, Ramin Djawadi, Bruce Broughton, Steve Porcaro, Jay Gruska, David Lawrence, Brian Tyler, Sean Callery, Mark Snow and John Debney.

The American Society of Composers, Authors and Publishers (ASCAP) is a professional membership organization of songwriters, composers and music publishers of every kind of music, whose primary function is to collect and distribute payment for the performance of its members’ works. The group has more than 600,000 members representing more than 10.5 million copyrighted works.



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.