‘Suicide Squad’ Leads Grammys in Visual Media

Morricone, Williams, Newman, Timberlake and Beyonce also in the mix

Among those receiving 2017 Grammy nominations for visual media: John Williams, Twenty One Pilots, Beyonce, Ice Cube's "Straight Outta Compton," Ennio Morricone, Steve Aoki and Justin Timberlake (Collage by Paula Parisi / MaxTheTrax)

Among those receiving 2017 Grammy nominations for visual media: John Williams, Twenty One Pilots’ Josh Dun and Tyler Joseph, Beyonce, Ice Cube, Ennio Morricone, Steve Aoki and Justin Timberlake (Collage by Paula Parisi / MaxTheTrax)

The Warner Bros. summer blockbuster Suicide Squad is killin’ it at the Grammys, with five nominations, the most of any visual media project.

Music supervisors Gabe Hilfer and Season Kent were the tune team behind the Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media nomination for Suicide Squad (Collector’s Edition). In addition, the song “Heathens” received three nominations: one for Best Song Written for Visual Media for Tyler Joseph, and Best Rock Song and Best Rock Performance for Twenty One Pilots. “Purple Lamborghini” also scored a songwriting nomination for Shamann Cooke, Sonny Moore and William Roberts (performance by Skrillex and Rick Ross). Suicide Squad was the only film of 2016 to net a platinum soundtrack (which Atlantic Records achieved in November, topping one million units; in September it became the only 2016 soundtrack to go gold, with 500,000-plus).

Straight Outta Compton, which was shut out of music categories at the Oscars, punched a Grammy ticket for Best Compilation Soundtrack. Thomas Newman (Bridge of Spies), Ennio Morricone (The Hateful Eight) and John Williams (Star Wars: The Force Awakens) were solid establishment choices in the Best Score category. Morricone actually took home the gold statuette earlier this year at the Academy Awards.

Morricone has three prior Grammy wins (two honorary awards, and a 1988 Best Score for The Untouchables). Williams has been honored with 22 Grammys in 42 at bats.

Less obvious category choices for score are The Revenant (score composed by German electronic artist Alva Noto (Carsten Nicolai) and Japanese pianist Ryuichi Sakamoto, with additional music by Bryce Dessner), and the Netflix drama series “Stranger Things,”  which received nominations for Volume 1 and Volume 2. Composers Kyle Dixon and Michael Stein do double duty as half of the Austin-based band Survive.

Justin Timberlake — along with Max Martin and Shellback — received a songwriting nomination for the Trolls tune “Can’t Stop the Feeling!” (described by Perez Hilton as “a pop-tastic earworm,” the chart-topper was crowned by Time magazine as the worst song of 2016 — diff’rent strokes!).

Beyoncé led the Grammy pack with a total of nine nominations, including two in the visual category: for the music video “Formation,” and the music film Lemonade, where it competes with Ron Howard’s road diary The Beatles: Eight Days A Week The Touring Years.

The 59th Annual Grammy Awards are scheduled to take place Sunday, Feb. 12, at the Staples Center in Los Angeles. James Corden hosts the ceremony, which will be televised on CBS, beginning at 8 p.m. Pre-awards coverage is scheduled starting at 3:30 p.m.

A list of the 2017 Grammy nominations in the visual media categories follows below. Find the complete list of Grammy nominations here.


Best Compilation Soundtrack For Visual Media:

Amy — (Various Artists)
Miles Ahead — Miles Davis & Various Artists)
Straight Outta Compton — (Various Artists)
Suicide Squad (Collector’s Edition) — (Various Artists)
Vinyl: The Essentials Season 1 — (Various Artists)

Best Score Soundtrack For Visual Media:

Bridge of Spies — Thomas Newman, composer
Quentin Tarantino’s The Hateful Eight — Ennio Morricone, composer
The Revenant — Alva Noto & Ryuichi Sakamoto, composers
Star Wars: The Force Awakens — John Williams, composer
Stranger Things Volume 1 — Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein, composers
Stranger Things Volume 2 — Kyle Dixon & Michael Stein, composers

Best Song Written For Visual Media:

“Can’t Stop The Feeling!” — Max Martin, Shellback & Justin Timberlake, songwriters (Justin Timberlake, Anna Kendrick, Gwen Stefani, James Corden, Zooey Deschanel, Walt Dohrn, Ron Funches, Caroline Hjelt, Aino Jawo, Christopher Mintz-Plasse & Kunal Nayyar), Track from: Trolls
“Heathens” — Tyler Joseph, songwriter (Twenty One Pilots), Track from: Suicide Squad
“Just Like Fire” — Oscar Holter, Max Martin, P!nk & Shellback, songwriters (P!nk), Track from: Alice Through The Looking Glass
“Purple Lamborghini” — Shamann Cooke, Sonny Moore & William Roberts, songwriters (Skrillex & Rick Ross), Track from: Suicide Squad
“Try Everything” — Mikkel S. Eriksen, Sia Furler & Tor Erik Hermansen, songwriters (Shakira), Track from: Zootopia
“The Veil” — Peter Gabriel, songwriter (Peter Gabriel), Track from: Snowden


Best Music Video:

“Formation” — Beyoncé
“River” — Leon Bridges
“Up & Up” — Coldplay
“Gosh” — Jamie XX
“Upside Down & Inside Out” — OK Go

Best Music Film:

I’ll Sleep When I’m Dead — Steve Aoki
The Beatles: Eight Days A Week The Touring Years — (The Beatles)
Lemonade — Beyoncé
The Music Of Strangers — Yo-Yo Ma & The Silk Road Ensemble
American Saturday Night: Live From The Grand Ole Opry — (Various Artists)



Best Engineered Album, Non-Classical:

Are You Serious — Tchad Blake & David Boucher, engineers; Bob Ludwig, mastering engineer (Andrew Bird)
Blackstar — David Bowie, Tom Elmhirst, Kevin Killen & Tony
Dig In Deep — Ryan Freeland, engineer; Kim Rosen, mastering engineer (Bonnie Raitt)
Hit N Run Phase Two — Booker T., Dylan Dresdow, Chris James, Prince & Justin Stanley, engineers; Dylan Dresdow, mastering engineer (Prince)
Undercurrent — Shani Gandhi & Gary Paczosa, engineers; Paul Blakemore, mastering engineer (Sarah Jarosz)

Producer Of The YearNon-Classical:

Benny Blanco
Greg Kurstin
Max Martin
Ricky Reed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.