‘Mozart’ Soundtrack has Operatic Flair

The Mozart in the Jungle Season 3 Soundtrack will be released digitally and on CD by Sony Classical on Dec. 9.  The album features original performances by soprano Ana María Martínez and beloved classical artists including Joshua Bell, Plácido Domingo, and Yo-Yo Ma.

Mozart in the Jungle is a half-hour comedic drama based on the critically acclaimed memoir Mozart in the Jungle: Sex, Drugs & Classical Music by Blair Tindall. The series draws back the curtain on the world of music, where artistic dedication and creativity collide with mind games, politicking and survival instincts.

The Amazon original series, which this year won the Golden Globe for Best TV Series Music or Comedy, draws back the curtain on the behind the scenes activities of a fictional New York symphony. As new maestro Rodrigo (Gael Garcia Bernal) is stirring things up, maestro emeritus Thomas (Malcolm McDowell) seeks to regain his equilibrium in a f new role. President of the symphony Gloria (Bernadette Peters) keeps things lively in the front office, while ingenue oboist Hailey (Lola Kirke) seeks her big break. Episodes feature both original and pre-existing performances of classical music alongside cameo appearances from artists like Gustavo Dudamel, Joshua Bell, Emanuel Ax and Lang.

Season three is set in the midst of a grand Italian adventure, featuring a new character, opera diva Alessandra (Monica Bellucci). The operatic overtones of this season are mirrored on the soundtrack, with the spotlight shining on soprano Ana María Martinez.  She performs several tracks on the soundtrack including a duet with Plácido Domingo on “La ci darem la mano” from Mozart’s Don Giovanni. This season will feature cameo appearances from Joshua Bell, Plácido Domingo and Nico Muhly.

Grammy Award-winner Ana María Martínez is considered one of the foremost sopranos of her time, with an international career that has seen her perform in some of the world’s most prestigious opera houses.  Opera News described her as a soprano who “harks back to the golden age.  Her range is even, from a dusky chest-voice through a claret-colored middle and up to radiant top, and is impressive in its quiet moments as it is at full power.”  Leading roles for Martínez in the 2016-2017 season include Marguerite in Faust with Houston Grand Opera, a role debut as Tatyana in Eugene Onegin with Lyric Opera of Chicago, as well as Cio San in Madame Butterfly with Royal Opera House Covent Garden and Donna Elvira in Don Giovanni with San Francisco Opera.  She recently joined star tenor Andrea Bocelli on a multi-city tour.


1) Les Filles des Cadix (L. Delibes)
Performed by Ana María Martínez/Steven Mercurio/ Prague Philharmonia

2) Die Zauberflöte, K. 620, “Pa-Pa-Pa-Papagena!” (W. A. Mozart)
Performed by Ileana Cotrubas/Christian Boesch/James Levine/Vienna Philharmonic Orchestra

3) Slavonic Dances, Op. 72, No. 2 in E minor (Allegretto grazioso) (A. Dvořák)
Performed by George Szell/ The Cleveland Orchestra

4)  *Impromptu (Thomas’s piece) (M. Mazzoli)
Performed by Joshua Bell/ The Kaprálová Orchestra

5) *Don Giovanni, K. 527: “Là ci darem la mano” (W. A. Mozart)
Performed by Plácido Domingo/Ana María Martínez/Alyssa Park, Violin/Shalini Vijayan, Violin/ Luke Maurer, Viola/Jacob Braun, Cello

6) *Die Junge Nonne, D. 828 (F. Schubert)
Performed by Ana María Martínez/Noah Lindquist

7) Fidelio, Op. 72: March from Act 1 (L. v. Beethoven)
Performed by Sir Colin Davis/ BR Symphonieorchester

8) Concerto in C major, K. 314 (285d), Allegro aperto (W. A. Mozart)
Performed by François Leleux/Camerata Salzburg

9) A lenda do caboclo (H. Villa-Lobos)
Performed by Yo-Yo Ma/Odair Assad/ Sergio Assad

10) *Amy Fisher (N. Muhly)
Performed by Ana María Martínez/Nico Muhly

11) *Carmen: Chanson bohème (G. Bizet) – Explicit Content
Performed by Ana María Martínez/Orchestra Regionale Filarmonía Veneta

12) Symphony No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 82 Allegro Molto (J. Sibelius)
Performed by Adrian Leaper/Orchestra Orquesta Filarmónica de Gran Canaria


BONUS TRACK: (digital product only)

13) *Welcome to Earth (Bonus Track) (Ryan Lott) – Explicit Content

Performed by Son Lux


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.