2015 Primetime Emmy Music Noms Pack a Few Surprises

emmy-key-art-2015It’s a diverse group of composers and songwriters to vie for Emmy gold from the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences at the 67th Annual Emmy Awards. From veterans like Sean Callery, with 13 prior noms and three wins, to Primetime Emmy debutants like Kevin Kliesch, who is nominated for a show that earned him a Daytime Emmy earlier this year. There’s Rachel Portman, who has an Oscar on her mantle for 1997’s Emma but no Emmy, despite two prior noms, and a slew of Emmy newbies.

Making their entry in the Emmy race: “Transparent” theme composer Dustin O’Halloran; Greg Phillinganes, music director on “Stevie Wonder: Songs in the Key of Life,” and All-Star GRAMMY Salute”; Oscar-winner Stephen Oremus (Frozen), music director for the Oscarcast; and “Chef’s Table” composer Duncan Thum. Peter Franklin and Jack Tantleff, the duo behind “Elf: Buddy’s Musical Christmas,” are also first-timers, as is “Glee” actor Darren Criss, for music and lyrics to the song “This Time.” Meanwhile, writer-producers Mike Reiss and Kyle Dunnigan had previous noms, but make their first appearance in the music categories.

Jeff Beal and Abel Korzeniowski are the only multiple nominees on the music list (with nods for main title and composition), while Korzeniowski’s “Penny Dreadful” and the Oscars were the only shows twice recognized.

Broadway blue-chip David Chase (not he of “Sopranos” fame) is historically the most-lauded honoree on the list, with 22 prior Primetime nominations and 6 trophies. Among agencies, WME tops the chart with nine clients nominated. Fortress came in second with six.  There are 41 composers competing in all.

The 67th Annual Emmy telecast airs on Fox, Sunday, Sept. 20 at 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT.


Outstanding Music Composition For A Limited Series, Movie Or A Special (Original Dramatic Score) – 2015

  • 24: Live Another Day
    “11:00 A.M. – 12:00 P.M.”
    Sean Callery, Music by


  • American Horror Story: Freak Show
    FX Networks
    Mac Quayle, Music by




  • Sofia the First: The Curse of Princess Ivy
    Disney Channel
    Kevin Kliesch, Music by


Outstanding Music Direction – 2015



  • Stevie Wonder: Songs In The Key Of Life – An All-Star GRAMMY Salute
    Greg Phillinganes, Music Director


  • Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber Of Fleet Street (Live From Lincoln Center)
    Alan Gilbert, Conductor and Music Director



Outstanding Original Main Title Theme Music – 2015

Outstanding Music Composition For A Series (Original Dramatic Score) – 2015

  • Chef’s Table
    “Francis Mallmann”
    Duncan Thum, Music by
  • Glee
    “Dreams Come True / Song Title: This Time”
    Darren Criss, Music & Lyrics by
  • Inside Amy Schumer
    “Cool With It / Song Title: Girl You Don’t Need Make Up”
    Comedy Central
    Kyle Dunnigan, Music & Lyrics by
    Jim Roach, Music by


  • Sons of Anarchy
    “Papa’s Goods / Song Title: Come Join The Murder”
    FX Networks
    Bob Thiele, Music & Lyrics by
    Kurt Sutter, Music & Lyrics by
    Jake Smith, Music & Lyrics by



Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.